menu | HOME | BUCKS | FAQs | HISTORY | IMAGES | INDUSTRY | LEGAL | LINKS | MANIFESTO | MEDICINE | RECREATION | WARRIORS | WHY |
submenu | LEGAL | LAW | other "honk for" causes | ART | LEMONADE | RECYCLE | TAXES |

HEMP LAW

( know your limitations )

HONK FOR HEMP THUMBS UP GRAPHIC
Hemp of Northeast Kansas

DRUGS
Kansas Law

The illegal possession or illegal use of drugs may subject individuals to criminal prosecution. The University of Kansas will refer violations or proscribed conduct to appropriate authorities for prosecution.

Unlawful possession of a depressant, stimulant or hallucinogenic drug is punishable as a Class A "nonperson misdemeanor." (Depressants include barbiturates and barbital. Hallucinogens include LSD, marijuana, and psilocvbin.)
MAXIMUM PENALTY: 1 year imprisonment; $2,500 fine

The sale or distribution of these drugs is a drug severity "level 3" felony.
MAXIMUM PENALTY: 4 yrs & 3 months imprisonment; $300,000 fine

Illegal possession of opiates, amphetamines, and narcotics is a drug severity "level 4" felony
MAXIMUM PENALTY: 3 1/2 years imprisonment; $100,000 fine

Kansas law provides that any person who violates the criminal statutes on controlled substances by manufacturing any controlled substance will be guilty of a drug severity 'level 2' felony.
MAXIMUM PENALTY: 6 years & 10 months imprisonment; $300,000 fine

Federal Law

The Federal Controlled Substances Act provides penalities for the following:

Intentional unlawful distribution or possession with intent to distribute controlled substances.
MAXIMUM PENALTY: Life imprisonment; $4,000,000 fine

For unlawful possession of a controlled substance.
MAXIMUM PENALTY: 20 years imprisonment; no maximum fine exists

Any person who unlawfully distributes a controlled substance to a person under twenty-one years of age, or who distributes a controlled substance on or within 1,000 feet of a school.
MAXIMUM PENALTY: Up to twice the term of imprisonment and fine otherwise authorized by law

ALCOHOL

University of Kansas Policy

The consumption of alcoholic liquor on the campus of the University of Kansas is prohibited by State statute except under special circumstances provided by law. The sale and/or consumption of cereal malt beverages is restricted to licensed spaces in the Kansas Union and the Burge Union. Cereal malt beverages may be served and consumed at group events in the Unions if the event has been approved in advance by the University Events Committee. At all times, the marketing, sale and consumption of cereal malt beverages must be accomplished in a manner to insure compliance with State statutes and regulations.

The Law: Possession and Consumption

In addition to the University of Kansas policies on cereal malt beverage and alcoholic liquor, state laws and city of Lawrence ordinances provide criminal penalties for specific violations occurring on campus. The most common are as follows:

City of Lawrence Ordinance

It is illegal for anyone of any age to possess an open container of, and/or consume cereal malt beverage or alcoholic liquor on property owned or operated by the University of Kansas, except those areas specifically licensed for sale or specifically exempted by state law.
MAXIMUM PENALTY: 6 months in jail; $500 fine

Kansas Law

It is illegal for anyone of any age to consume alcoholic liquor on state (university) property, except where specific exemptions are provided by law.
MAXIMUM PENALTY: 6 months in jail; $200 fine

It is illegal for anyone under 21 years of age to possess, purchase, attempt to purchase or consume cereal malt beverage or alcoholic liquor anywhere within the state.
MAXIMUM PENALTY: 1 month in jail; $500 fine; perform 40 hours of public service; or attend an alcohol education program

It is illegal for anyone to furnish cereal malt beverage or alcoholic liquor to another person under 21 years of age.
MAXIMUM PENALTY: 6 months in jail; $1,000 fine

DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE

Kansas Law

In Kansas it is illegal for anyone to operate a vehicle under the influence of alcohol, drugs or both alcohol and drugs, with a breath or blood alcohol content of .08 or more. For anyone under 21, it is illegal to do so with a breath or blood alcohol content of .02 or greater. If convicted, you are subject to the following penalties:

First conviction - misdemeanor.
MAXIMUM PENALTY: 6 months in jail (48 hours mandatory) or 100 hours of public service; $500 fine; required completion of an alcohol education program; suspended driver's license for 30 days (then restricted for 330 days)

Second conviction - misdemeanor.
MAXIMUM PENALTY: 1 year in jail (5 days mandatory); $1,000 fine; suspended driver's license for 1 year; required completion of an alcohol treatment program

Third conviction - felony.
MAXIMUM PENALTY: 1 year in prison (90 days mandatory); $2,500 fine; suspended driver's license for 1 year; required completion of an alcohol treatment program

Subsequent convictions - felony.
MAXIMUM PENALTY: 1 year in prison (90 days mandatory); $2,500 fine; suspended driver's license for 1 year; required completion of an alcohol treatment program

PLUS

Revocation for one year of the license plate or temporary registration certificate of the motor vehicle driven during the violation

Refusal to submit to alcohol or drug testing.
PENALTY: Suspended driver's license for 1 year

THE USE, AND MISUSE, OF FORMS OF IDENTIFICATION

Possession, use, sale, and manufacture of altered or false driver's licenses or identification cards are prohibited by criminal laws. Criminal convictions may jeopardize employment status in professions requiring licensing, certification, or security clearances.

In Kansas, it is also illegal to lend a driver's license or identification card to a person under 21 years of age in order to obtain cereal malt beverage and/or alcoholic liquor. Kansas Law

Possession or display of any fictitious or fraudulently altered driver's license or identification card is a Class B nonperson misdemeanor.
MAXIMUM PENALTY: 6 months in jail; $1,000 fine

Lending a driver's license or identification card to a person under 21 years of age for use in obtaining cereal malt beverage and/or alcoholic liquor, is a Class B nonperson misdemeanor (first conviction):
MAXIMUM PENALTY: At least 100 hours public service $500 fine 6 months in jail; (severity level and penalities increase with subsequent convictions)

Other crimes relating to false identification can be more severe. Dealing in false indentificafion documents is a severity "level 10" nonperson felony. Penalities will vary based upon factors considered in sentencing guidelines.
MAXIMUM PENALTY: 13 months in prison; $100,000 fine

PUBLISHED BY THE OFFICE OF THE PROVOST IN COOPERATION WITH THE DIVISION OF STUDENT AFFAIRS,
THE UNIVERSITY OF KANSAS POLICE DEPARTMENT AND THE UNIVERSITY GENERAL COUNSEL, JULY, 1998